Skip to main content
Alternate members

Planning Panel Boundaries and Members

Sydney South Planning Panel

The Chair of the Sydney South Planning Panel is Helen Lochhead.


Professor Helen Lochhead is the Dean of the Faculty of Built Environment at the University of New South Wales.  Helen is an architect, landscape architect and urban designer who has held senior roles in the NSW government. These roles include Deputy Government Architect, Executive Director roles at Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority and Sydney Olympic Park Authority.

Helen is a member of the Planning Assessment Commission, is on the National Board of the Australian Institute of Architects and is on the Board of Directors for the AIA Foundation. Helen has previously been appointed to the Central Sydney Planning Committee, the ACT Planning and Land Council, Gungahlin Development Authority and the NSW Heritage Council.

Helen graduated from the University of Sydney and Columbia University and has taught in Australia and the United States. Helen was a Fulbright Scholar and has received a number of Fellowships, including the Lincoln/Loeb Fellowship at the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University and the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy.

State Members

Stuart McDonald

Stuart McDonald, a Director of consultancy SJB Planning, brings more than 30 years of experience in planning and development to the Panel, gained in local government roles as well as working with local government, State government and commercial clients since commencing private practice in 2005. Stuart has held the positions of Director Strategic and Transport Planning at the City of Sydney Council as well as the Planning Director positions at South Sydney City and the former Leichhardt Council.

Stuart is the Chair of the Camden Local Planning Panel and alternate chair and member of Campbelltown, Cumberland and Strathfield Local Planning Panels.  Stuart has previously been a member of the NSW Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) Local Government Delegated Tribunal for several years until 2019. Stuart is a recognised planning expert at the Land and Environment Court of NSW.

Holding a Bachelor of Urban and Regional Planning (Hons) from the University of New England, Stuart is also an accredited Mediator, a Certified Practising Planner and a Member of the Planning Institute of Australia

Heather Warton

Heather Warton is a planner with over 35 years experience in State and local government.  She holds a Bachelor of Town Planning (Hons 1) from UNSW, a Master of Business Administration (Executive) from the Australian Graduate School of Management and is qualified in Horticulture (TAFE Medal).  Heather is a member of the Planning Institute of Australia. 

At present she is as a self-employed consultant, providing services to both councils and State Government in development assessment, strategic planning and government administration.  She regularly acts as a Planning Expert in the Land and Environment Court.  Prior to her consultancy, recent roles were as a local government Director of Planning and as a Director in Major Project Assessment in then NSW Department of Planning.  Heather is a Community Member of the Inner West Local Planning Panel, and an Expert Member of the Randwick City and The Hills Shire Council Local Planning Panels.